Catching Up With Brandon Sing

Brandon-Sing-Trot
The 2012 Long Island Ducks championship team had a cast of heroes throughout the year. Dan Lyons will always reign supreme for laying down the ninth inning bunt that brought home the championship-winning run in Game Five. John Brownell’s dominant start in Game Four of that series kept Long Island’s season alive. Bobby Blevins was superb in the final game of both playoff series. Kraig Binick hit at an impressive .405 clip during the postseason while Joash Brodin registered at least one hit in each Championship Series game. Another name on that list of heroes was none other than Brandon Sing, who on Thursday celebrated his 33rd birthday.

Sing’s only season with the Ducks ended the way any player would have wanted: by raising a trophy on their home field. His regular season was tremendous as he led the team in home runs with 26 and runs with 78. In addition, he batted .284 with 78 RBI (third on the team) and 31 doubles (second on the team). Sing’s postseason numbers were equally impressive, as he tied a franchise record with three homers in the Liberty Division Championship Series. A .333 average and eight RBI in 10 games helped cement him among the great first baseman in team history. In fact, he was nominated for the First Base position on the 15th Anniversary Team this winter.

Surprisingly, the Illinois native elected to retire after winning the championship despite being just 31 years old and coming off of a very successful season. While he now lives in Southhaven, Mississippi with his wife, Laura, and two-year-old son, Bronson, Sing will forever remember the summer he called Central Islip home. We had the chance to catch up with former Duck on Thursday and discuss a variety of topics:

What have you been doing since you decided to retire from baseball?

“Since I stopped, I started helping last year with one of the teams that I worked out with. Basically, the coach told me that it was my team if I wanted to go ahead and keep coaching. I took a month to think about it, and since that month, it’s developed into three months later having two 13-year-old teams, an 11-year-old team and a nine-year-old team. Now, I have my own little youth travel baseball organization that I started. I can’t complain! I’m busy, and I’m still in the game. It’s something I always loved doing. Especially playing independent baseball, I always helped coaching the younger kids, the rookies and all of the guys who were younger than me. It’s been fun, and they look up to me, so it’s fun teaching them the right way to play baseball.”

How important was it for you to stay involved in the game after retiring?

“It was very important. I wish I could have kept playing, but it was the right time and all that to walk away. The love I have for the game is beyond measurable. To see that I now have a two-year-old son and know that he’s got somewhere to play and be taught the right way, it was something that I really wanted to do. I’m glad I was able to do it.”

Why did you feel it was the right time to end your career, and was the decision to do so very tough?

“It’s always tough to walk away from a game that you love. Bronson was born, and I’ve seen all of my buddies have kids and it’s been tough with them going back and forth. That was something that was really huge on the part of me retiring and not playing anymore was just wanting to be around him, wanting to enjoy him growing up and not missing any of that.  I could put playing to the side and watch him grow up. You only get that once, and that was something that was really dear to my heart. It made it tough, but in the same instance, going out and having a great year, contributing to the team and ultimately helping Long Island win the championship made it easier.”

Talk about what it meant for you to win a championship with the Ducks in your final year:

“From the start, talking with Mike Pfaff in trying to get a team assembled that could win a championship there, it was something from the get-go that made me want to be a part of it. We had our bumps in the road, but we as a team came together. There were a lot of guys that just wanted that championship. Regardless of what amount of losses we had in the second half or even with us winning the first half, we didn’t care who we played. We were ready to get to the field every day, and regardless of the situation, it was something that every one of us wanted. You can see what happened at the end. We won the championship, and that’s something that takes a whole team to buy into. Once you’re able to do that, it can make for something special like that.”

What enabled you to put together such a successful season offensively in 2012?

“I just stayed within myself and understood that the older I got, the more patient I got with myself. I didn’t try to go out there and do too much. It was about allowing the game to come to me and not go out there saying that every game, I had to drive in a run. I was still able to walk and get on base, anything I could do to help the team. I put my stats to the side, and I knew that at the end of the day, my numbers would be there. I was going to hit home runs or doubles, and I was going to drive in some runs. It didn’t really matter. I just made sure going into it that I had to stay within myself because I knew what I had to do and knew how my body felt.”

How honored are you to be nominated for a spot on the Ducks 15th Anniversary Team?

“It’s a huge honor. To just be with the organization for one year and for them to think that highly of me, it’s special. Especially with the other ones that were there, it’s a great group of guys. I was just blessed, like I said, to have a good year there and to have Long Island think of me as one of those Top 15 people.”

If you could say anything to the Ducks fans that supported you on Long Island, what would it be?

“Thank you for everything! You guys made it a special year in 2012, and we couldn’t have done it without you! 

Posted on March 13, 2014, in Feature Articles and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

